John Talabot and Pional team up for new 12″ series


The teaming up of John Talabot and Pional is, I think you’ll agree, always a winning formula. ‘So Will Be Now’, ‘Brave’, ‘Destiny’, their remix of The XX’s ‘Chained’ and the evasive ‘T.A.M.B’ are all examples of what the Spanish pair can do when they get their heads together.

London label Young Turks is launching a series of limited edition 12”s from their artists, the first of which features the exciting prospect of Lost Scripts, a new collaborative project between John Talabot and Pional. The series will be dubbed 2013 and will include uniquely artworked records featuring two tracks from artists associated with the Young Turks imprint, including The XX, Sampha, Koreless and FKA Twigs.

The last time Talabot and Pional appeared on Young Turks was with their fantastic remix of The XX’s ‘Chained’ (read our five star review here).

Lost Scripts’ ‘I’ll Be Watching You’ is a typically off-kilter slice of electronica, with buoyant, rickety drums and a bubbly melody. The B-side is Koreless’ ‘Sun’, already released as part of the producer’s Yugen EP earlier this year.

Young Turks will release Young Turks 2013/1 on September 16.

A. Lost Scripts – I’ll Be Watching You
B. Koreless – Sun

*stream the full track here.

Pelski: Music News & Reviews © 2024 All Rights Reserved

Designed by Louis Louis (Real Talk Digital)