Mix Of The Week: Moomin


Moomin’s production alias only surfaced three years ago, but he’d been creating his own mixes using an old school tape deck since the early 1990s, before turning his hand to turntables. Moomin’s debut album The Story About You landed on Smallville Records in November 2011 and was a masterclass in raw, muddied house.

His mix for the ever-excellent Little White Earbuds site is a typically soulful selection, drawing on all sort of bumpy deep house.

Download: LWE Podcast 170: Moomin (81:48)

01. Office Gossip, “Blue On Black” (Atjazz Remix) [Winding Road Records]
02. Metro Area, “Atmosphrique” [Environ]
03. Session Victim, “Yes I Know” [Delusions of Grandeur]
04. Moomin, “I Whisper A Prayer” [Smallville Records]
05. Mr. G, “Black Breeds” [*]
06. 3 A.M., “I Love This Place (Bonus Beats)” [Movin' Records]
07. C & M Productions, “Lesson One” [UrbanHouse Traxx]
08. Schatrax, “Restless Nights” [Schatrax]
09. Brett Dancer, “I’ll Be There” [Track Mode]
10. Fresh and Low, “No Going Back” [West Side]
11. Trailer Ends, “Runnin Around” [Downtown 161]
12. Greg Cash, “I Got Your Love” [PK]
13. Reset, “Robodisco” [Paper Recordings]
14. Baby Ford, “Built In” [Force Inc. Music Works]

Pelski: Music News & Reviews © 2024 All Rights Reserved

Designed by Louis Louis (Real Talk Digital)